Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim.

I pick up books a lot on a whim. Especially when perusing through some of my favorite used book stores. I always end up picking up several books om a whim, plus the books that I had on my list to buy (if they had them). Now, some of these books I haven’t read yet, but they made it to the list because I simply couldn’t leave the store without buying them. So here are my top ten books I picked up on a whim, in no particular order.

  1. Lady of Ashes by Christine Trent. A book about a female undertaker in 1860s London was all I needed to know to buy this one. Sadly it wasn’t all that great and in fact I added this one to the dreaded DNF pile.
  2. Rhapsody by Elizabeth Haydon. This one was a used bookstore find. It sounded good and they had the whole series, so I scooped them all up. I’ve read the first book and really enjoyed it, now I just need to finish the rest of the series.
  3. Watership Down by Richard Adams. Bunnies! Need I say more? Bought on a complete whim, wasn’t sure what to expect, absolutely loved it. One of the best whim books that I have read.
  4. The Tower of Ravens by Kate Forsyth. A books whose cover and description pulled me in and figured why not buy it. I never did finish this one, but part of me wants to go back and give it another try.
  5. There Will Be Dragons by John Ringo. Bought this one during a buy 3 get the 4th free deal when I needed a fourth book. Didn’t like it, but at least it was technically free.
  6. Silver Wolf, Black Falcon by Dennis L. McKeirnan. This one might have been another deal book that I figured why not give it a try. It sounded need but didn’t pan out.
  7. The Book of Deacon by Joseph Lallo. I believe this was a Kindle freebie that I grabbed on a whim. I quite enjoyed this one and need to read the rest of the trilogy.
  8. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake. This was a partial whim buy. I say it mentioned by some book blogger that this book was so scary she couldn’t make it past page 20 or something, so thought I’d check it out. While I loved this book, I didn’t find it scary at all.
  9. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Figured, ‘hey this sounds neat let’s check it out’, and boy was it great. One of the best whim books that I have read.
  10. Dhampir by Barb & J.C. Hendee. Picked up this book shortly after it came out figuring it might be good. Turned out out to be enjoyable and continued on with the series – some books weren’t so good but overall a good whim series to have picked up.
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

