Book Review: Of Blood And Honor

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Up until this point, all the books that I have read in the Warcraft and World of Warcraft series have been full length books, so it was a nice change of pace to get to read this short story. Of course, before I even read this book, all I could think of was “What the heck does Christ Metzen know about writing books?”. After all, Metzen is a game designer for Blizzard and the only other thing I knew about him was that there is a character in World of Warcraft, Metzen the Reindeer, who appears during the Feast of Winterveil. So honestly, when I went to read this book I wasn’t expecting much from it.

As it turns out, Metzen does know how to write a book. I was quickly pulled into the story, and while I knew very little about Tirion before hand (I’m a diehard Horde player), I felt that he did a great job of giving me enough information about his past, as well as the present events, to get a good look at this character. Of Eitrigg, the Orc, I knew some, however my knowledge of him has become faded since I stopped playing the game.

The flow in this story is really good. Events keep everything coming steadily, and as the story progresses, so do the characters. Some like Tirion and Eitrigg try to break free from what they had known for years and see that peace can come in many ways, however, for the most part all of the other characters are stuck in their ways, unwilling to see Orcs as anything but enemies that must be destroyed.

This was a great quick read and I’m glad I gave it a chance. I wouldn’t mind seeing more short stories like this in the World of Warcraft series, though I doubt I will get them as the series had been slow to come out with new books, if not come to a complete standstill.

Leave a Reply

