Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Reasons I Love Gardening.

Since I was little I loved to do gardening. But I would like to point out that I don’t grow flowers, I find them a waste of garden space, except for Marigolds since they are great pest control. What I do grow is vegetables and lots of them. So here are the reasons why I love gardening.

  1. It gets me outside. Our summer is far too short up here, so while I already make an effort to spend lots of time outside during the summer, the garden gives me extra incentive to do so.
  2. It’s good exercise. Digging, pulling seeds, hauling bags of dirt and just walking around my large garden keep me in shape.
  3. It’s therapeutic. If I’m having a bad day or need some alone time, the garden gives me a great sense of peace. It can also help me work out my frustration while ripping weeds out.
  4. It gives me something to do. I lead a seriously boring life. So having the garden gives me an excuse to go out and do something. Bonus being that I don’t have to interact with people (introvert here).
  5. It gives us healthy stuff to eat. There’s nothing better than walking out into the back yard and bringing in a bunch of beans, or tomatoes or carrots and knowing that I grew them. They even taste better.
  6. It’s a great reading area. Sometimes I like to sit in the garden area and read. It’s nice to look up from the pages and see this lush oasis of food just feet away from me.
  7. I can pass it onto my son. While I prefer to do all the gardening myself, I do make sure my son comes out and helps me. He really enjoys it and loves the end result. Knowing I’m teaching him an important skill is well worth it.

Well, I didn’t quite make it to ten, but gardening is a wonderful activity and I encourage everyone to do it. Even if it is just to grow a few flowers or something small in a pot.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great topic this week. I like reading about other people’s interests outside of books. I have a few potted plants but would one day like to have a huge garden like my mom. Having a beagle makes that hard though. He digs and eats everything! Some day…

    • Potted plants are a great way to start. That’s where I started off a few years ago at our home. Now I have a 300+ sq ft garden and already looking to expand again. Ah yes, a digging dog can be a problem. We had to put a chicken wire fence around our garden to keep our dog out, she doesn’t dig but will eat everything if given the chance.

  2. I love this post! I wish I could garden, but I live in an apartment with pretty much no access outdoors. I also don’t like being on the balcony because I’m pretty high up and get a bit scared of heights… but once I get my own home, I plan to have my own herb garden. #5 is a pretty big motivation! 😛

    • You could always grow a few things in pots near windows. Having living in an apartment for a while, I know it can be difficult to grow stuff, but it can be done. Start with something easy like a spider plant or a few herbs that are low maintenance and then go from there. Also is another easy to grow plant and comes in handy when you have cuts or sun burn – give them a bit of sun and water one or twice a week and they are happy.

      • That’s a good idea! I think my other problem is that I’m out of the country quite often though and for weeks/months at a time, so I don’t trust any plant to survive that… unless there’s any that doesn’t need watering or care at all, haha.

Leave a Reply

