Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I feel like this is one of the most difficult reviews I have had to write. When I first finished this book back in April, I really enjoyed it, giving it a solid four star review. When I went to write the review for it, I found that I was drawing a complete blank. There was a lot to like in the book and yet I felt nothing I could say would do this book justice. And then there was the risk of giving out spoilers, not only for this book, but for the previous books as well. So I waited a bit, letting myself just let the review form before typing it. Well a month later, I was still struggling. But finally, almost two months later, I finally was able to write something, yet it was not what I originally thought it would be.

So why was it so hard to write it?

The truth is, that while I initially enjoyed the book, I found that my love of it wavered over time. The more I thought about it, the less I cared about the characters or their journey. I came to realize that it had actually dragged on and I had been forcing myself to not only continue reading it, but to like it as well. Honestly, it’s a good book, but I just don’t like it as much as I was telling myself that I did.

Sadly, this does happen with book series. The first couple of books pull you in, and then the next books can disappoint you. It’s a shame that it had to happen with this series, because I loved the first two books.

While I didn’t completely love this book, I didn’t hate it either. I would have to say that after giving it a lot of thought and accepting my true feelings for it, the book gets a solid three stars. I do plan on reading the final book in the series, in fact I had started it a couple months ago, but I think I’m going to wait until returning to it. I see no reason to rush into a book when I’m still feeling kind of meh over this one, as it will only make me dislike the final book without even giving it a chance.

Leave a Reply

