Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Books Set Outside The US.

Well this was an interesting and difficult topic. Admittedly, I could have just rounded up ten Fantasy or SciFi novels and made the list with that. However, I tried to avoid that as much as possible because it was just too easy. After searching throughout my shelves I finally found some. So here they are, in no particular order.

  1. The Curse of The Viking Grave by Walter Farley. Set in Canada this book follows a group of teens trying to find a viking grave in Northern Canada.
  2. The Last Rhinos by Lawrence Anthony. Set in Africa, this book is a memoirs of the authors time dedicated to trying to save the rhinos in the Congo as well as in South Africa.
  3. Sirantha Jax series by Ann Aguirre. I can’t recall the name of the universe these books are set in, but it’s fantastic and I highly recommend reading this series.
  4. The Boleyn Trilogy by Laura Andersen. Set in England, this trilogy is a alternative historical fiction following the Tudors and Boleyns. Really great for fans of historical fiction who are looking for something unique.
  5. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. This series is set in a number of places on Earth and beyond, but it was Prague that stood out to me in the first book.
  6. Half of A Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche. Set in Africa, mostly Nigeria, during the Biafran War, this fiction novel really is a great read.
  7. Warcraft: Durotan by Christie Golden. This book is set in two different worlds, neither of them ours.
  8. The Dragons of Jupiter by Jacob Holo. Set on Jupiter (duh), this Sci-Fi novel really stood out to me as something special.
  9. Star Wars series by Various Authors. Set in a galaxy far, far away. How could I not include these books on this list? Seriously, they are all great (okay a few are lackluster, but as an overall series they are all great).
  10. The Martian by Andy Weir. Okay, I’m cheating with this one since some of it happens in the US, but since most of it happens on Mars I’m going to list it. Plus it was a truly fantastic novel, and the movie was pretty damn good too.
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Do you have a favorite SW book? I know the Thrawn trilogy has the most name recognition, but somewhat more recently the Darth Bane books were captivating.

    • Ah the question I always have the hardest time answering. As far as the Expanded Universe (I refuse to call it Legends) goes, I’d say my favorites are The Courtship of Princess Leia (because it was the first one that I read), The Black Fleet Crisis trilogy (because damn it I liked it even if everyone else hated it), The X-Wing books (because they were fantastic) and Crucible (because it was a bittersweet ending to the EU). Now as far as the new Canon books go, I’d say it’s a tie between Tarkin and Lost Stars at the moment, most of the others I haven’t enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

