Book Review: Titans

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Alright, I’ll admit that I almost didn’t read this book at first. I had found there was a lot of hype before it was even published and it continued after it was released. That may sound like a silly reason to not read a book, but in my experience, that has often led me to very disappointing books – the bigger the hype, the worse the book. But eventually I caved and bought the book because dang it, it’s about mechanical horse racing and has no romance in it – how often do you find that in a YA novel? Almost never. So I thought, what the heck let’s read this and see what happens.

There’s not a lot I can say without giving away too much of the book. However, one of the things I really enjoyed about this book, was the old characters that played a major role in the story. It’s not surprising that most characters in Young Adult novels are teens or in the early adult years, with some adults such as parents, filling in the gaps, but rarely do we see truly older characters who play a significant part in the overall story arc. Rags and Barney were a great addition to the book and it certainly wouldn’t have been the same without it.

The friendship between Astrid and Magnolia was also great. Friendship often plays a role in novels like this, but in Titans, it plays such a bigger aspect. They’ve been through a lot together, and continue to endure various struggles throughout the book. The friendship between the two girls and the old guys was also an important part and added an extra element to things.

The Titans and the races were also great. It takes normal horse races and adds more excitement and interest. Horse racing is great as is, but making the horses mechanical beasts and tracks that are designed to stop the riders and their Titans at every turn, is just magical.

I think the one thing that stopped me from liking this book more was that I went into it thinking it would be similar to The Scorpio Races by Maggie Steifvater. This led me to expect things from the book that I shouldn’t have, and when they didn’t happen I was left a bit disappointed. Had I gone into this book without assuming it would be like another book, I feel as though I would have liked it more. Even so, it was an enjoyable read and I feel as though this is a book that many people will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

