Book Review: Out Rider

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of the book to review via NetGalley.

Out Rider is the eleventh and final book in the Jackson Hole series. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book, I didn’t bother to read the synopsis since I have read nearly all the other books in this series. I figured, it would be good to go in blind knowing how much I enjoyed nearly all of the books.

Things started off alright, a little bit of a tense situation helps to introduce Dev and Sloan to each other and the reader. There was, of course, pretty instant attraction between the two, followed by hesitation and the wondering of does he/she feel the same way. So in that respect, the book felt a bit flat to me, as so many romance books follow this same trend – and yes I get it, that is clearly the popular way to do it, but I guess I was hoping for something different.

One thing I did like was the fact that, for once, the guy didn’t start calling the girl “babe” right away. That always irks me, when as soon as there is any attraction between two people, the guy starts in on the “babe” stuff. Also, for once the girl didn’t have grey eyes – it’s my pet peeve when every female love interest has grey eyes.

Things really picked up in the last quarter of the book when the action ramped up. Things had been building up to something happening, but finally there is was, I just wish it had have happened a bit sooner. This part I really liked, it was fast paced, kept me turning to pages to see how things would turn out (even though the end result was obvious) and I really enjoyed it.

I think I would have liked the book more had that action been sooner, or at least if more action was spread throughout the book. Also, I didn’t really care for the whole empathic thing. It just seemed like a convenient excuse for Dev to be oversensitive, and in fact the subject was kind of beat to death and then never mentioned again in the last half or so of the book.

Overall, this was a decent book. I didn’t like it as much as I had hoped I would, but it was still a fairly quick read. I am kind of sad that the series is done, since a few of the couples in it I would love to see more of, but I think things involving them were tied up well. I would recommend this series to people, though I would recommend reading them in order, just so you can fully understand all of the characters, their backgrounds and how they got to where they are now. I will be reading more books by this author in the future.

Leave a Reply

