Top Ten Tuesday

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation.

I don’t get a lot of direct recommendations for books. However, over the four years that I have been running this blog, I have read quite a few books because I have seen them on other bloggers sites. So I will count those as recommendations and go with that. And without further delay, here are the ten books I have read because of other bloggers.

  1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. This book was all over every blog I visited it seemed. So what else could I do but go buy it, read it and see what all the fuss was about. I’m glad I did, because this trilogy is fantastic.
  2. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake. Saw this one mentioned on Twitter and whoever posted about it said they were scared out of their wits by about page 10. So I had to check it out. While I didn’t find any of it scary, which was disappointing, I did really enjoy the story.
  3. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. This one was actually recommended by a friend, though I also saw it on quite a few blogs as well. It was a very good story.
  4. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Between bloggers reviewing it and the movie coming out, I felt I had to read this one. It was very enjoyable and so was the movie.
  5. Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey. I actually picked this one up because of Felicia Day’s book club, Vaginal Fantasy, on Goodreads. I feel in love with the story and really need to get around to reading the rest of this series.
  6. The Raven Boy’s by Maggie Stiefvater. Much like DOS&B, this book was everywhere, so I picked it up. While I enjoyed it, I found each following book in the series a little less enjoyable. Overall, still happy I read it.
  7. The Sea Monster Memoirs by Karen Amanda Hooper. I don’t remember the exact details, but I came across this series and the Kindrily series about the same time. I do know that Karen was looking for bloggers to review her books and I jumped on board for that. I am so glad I did because both of these series are wonderful and Karen is an amazing person as well.
  8. Under The Empyrean Sky by Chuck Wendig. Yet another book that seemed to be popping up everywhere. I really enjoyed this and the second book in the trilogy, though I am yet to read the third book. Glad I took a chance with this one.
  9. Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger. While this book wasn’t my favorite, it did give me the opportunity to finally read something steampunk. I’m glad I finally got to experience that genre and I may read more in the future.
  10. Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder. And another book that was popping up on a multitude of blogs. I really enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy but thought the third book was a bit of a letdown. Still glad I got to read them.

What are the books you read because of recommendations? Did they hold up to the praise or were they not as good as you were told they would be?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I agree, the more I see a book on blogs the more likely I am to pick it up…for the most part at least. Sometimes seeing the same book over and over again on multiple blogs for weeks on end makes me not want to read it.

  1. I read The Raven Cycle because of recommendations too. I’m glad I picked it up. I still haven’t gotten to Daughter of Smoke & Bone, but its definitely one I keep seeing everywhere.

Leave a Reply

