Book Review: Wind River Wrangler

My rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via Netgalley.

I’ve enjoyed a number of Lindsay Mckeena’s books over the past couple of years and was happy to hear she was starting another series, especially after the last series, Jackson Hole, recently finished. I liked the premise of this book right away. I enjoy reading books about fictional authors, especially ones that are packed with suspense.

This book started off really good. I was pulled into it right away with that first page and I was already trying to make a guess at just who Shiloh‘s stalker was and their motivation behind it.

Then things slowed down…a lot. I realize that sometimes the plot needs to slow down some so that all the necessary background stuff and character building can happen, but in this case it just never really recovered from that. I kept reading thinking it would pick up again, and it sort of did at the end, but I feel like it never really got all that interesting again.

The fact is, Shiloh and Roan were fairly interesting characters. I did want to know more about them, I did want to see their relationship grow and of course I wanted to find out what was happening with her stalker. And that is what kept me reading, even if I did have to slog through a whole lot of nothing (or at least it felt like nothing), to get there.

Sure in the end I was a bit disappointed with this book, but I didn’t hate it, just found it far too slow to truly enjoy. However, I do feel like it could be the start of a good solid series, if it’s anything like her Jackson Hole series, so I will read the next book to see how it is, and if it is good, which I’m hoping it will be, then I will continue on with the series. I know there are people out there who will enjoy this book, so if you think you might, I suggest you do and read it.

Leave a Reply

