Sci-Fi Month 2016: Introduction

November is here and that means it’s once again time for Sci-Fi Month! This is the fourth year of this event and it is hosted by Rinn from Rinn Reads, and co-hosted by Lisa from Over The Effing Rainbow. For all the details, sign-ups and more, go check out their blogs.

Not only has Sci-Fi month been running for fours years, but this is the fourth time I have participated in it. While I failed the last two years to post a bunch during the event, this year I was prepared early and have a variety of reviews, discussions and other random Sci-Fi posts to fill in the month.

To get things started, I’m going to properly introduce myself and share with you a few reasons why I love Sci-Fi.

Who am I?

Hello, I’m Sarah and I love Sci-Fi.

Thanks to our mutual interest in the genre, you have managed to stumble upon my little slice of the internet. I have been blogging here since September 2012 and hope to continue doing so for many years.

Books, Movies, TV or Video Games? Which is my favorite?

The obvious answer should be books. After all, this is a book blog you are on right now and 98% of what is posted her is about books. However, I am going to have to say that Sci-Fi Movies are my favorite. Sometimes it’s better to visually experience Sci-Fi than reading it. Sure I like Sci-Fi novels as much as the next person, but I find at times that when technology or something else is being explained to the reader it can really bog things down and even take away from the story as a whole. Whereas when you are watching something Sci-Fi you can see the object and generally understand the how and why it works by seeing it in action.

Favorite Sci-Fi…?

I’m not even going to let you finish that question. The answer is Star Wars. My favorite thing in Sci-Fi is, and probably always will be, Star Wars. I love and appreciate many others shows, books, movies, etc. from the genre, but Star Wars has a very special place in my heart.

What do I have planned for the month?

Mostly reviews and discussions. But if I can manage it, I hope to have some other random Sci-Fi inspired posts along the way. Be sure to check back regularly as I plan to post plenty this month, every day if I can manage it.

16 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Month 2016: Introduction

  1. Hi Sarah! This is my first time taking part in this event and my first time on your blog. I’m similar to yourself in that I’m more of a sci-fi viewer than a reader although saying that I have made a bit more of an effort in reading books from the genre over the past couple of years and have managed to find some titles that I’ve really loved (Fahrenheit 451 for example). Also like you I’m HUGELY passionate about Star Wars 😀 Have a great November/Sci-Fi Month!

    • Hello! So happy you can join us for the first time this year, this event is fantastic. I’ve been doing the same thing, trying to read more Sci-Fi instead of just watching it. I haven’t read Fahrenheit 451, but I should at some point. Hooray for Star Wars! I have quite a few Star Wars related posts coming up this month.

  2. Looking forward to your posts, and yes to Star Wars! The best. and I am so looking forward to Rogue One, I hope they can capture the Star Wars magic. the trailers have me hopeful…

  3. Hello! I’m a Sci-Fi month newbie, and actually relatively new to science fiction overall, maybe 4 years, although of course I saw and loved the Star Wars films growing up, and when I was very small I used to pore over my “first space encyclopedia” planning my future holidays! 😀 Little me must be very disappointed that 20-odd years later we haven’t even sent humans to Mars yet! I look forward to reading your contributions this month.

    • We all have to start somewhere with the genre, and really 4 years doesn’t seem like a lot of time, but it’s plenty to fall in deep love with the genre. Ha ha, we might not have been to Mars yet, but it’s in the works.

Leave a Reply

