Sci-Fi Discussion: 50 Years of Star Trek

Let’s talk Star Trek for a bit.

Back on September 8, 2016, Star Trek celebrated it’s fiftieth anniversary.

But before that, Star Trek came to my attention more recently, back in August. I happened to come across an article about how Lucille Ball saved Star Trek. This not only made me think back to my first love of Star Trek, but also gave me another reason to love Lucy. Who would have thought that a comedian of Lucille’s caliber and fame would be such an important factor in getting Star Trek up and running. And so with all these articles about Star Trek recently, I figured it would be the perfect starting point for Sci-Fi Month.

While I am a Star Wars fan at heart, I was originally a Star Trek fan. For me, Star Trek was my gateway into the Science Fiction genre. As a child my dad and I would sit together and watch new, and sometimes rerun, episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation. This was our bonding time as well, as neither my mother or sister watched the show much. We would watch the episode and then talk about what happened. I’m sure I would ask a million and one questions depending on what happened in the episode, especially if I didn’t remember the previous episode or I didn’t understand something with it. I loved everything about the show and getting to spend quality time with my dad, even if it was while watching TV, was priceless.

As far as characters went, Picard was my favorite, with Data following in second. I also loved Geordie, partially because his eye cover thingy (sorry, I don’t know what it was called) always caught my attention, but mostly because he’s the freaking Reading Rainbow guy! I guess, in the end, I liked all the characters on various levels. I cannot think of a single character from The Next Generation series that I didn’t like.

Next came Deep Space Nine. While I didn’t really get into this series fully, I would watch it on occasion, usually when nothing else was on (which considering I had 7 channels growing up, and most of them were news channels, was pretty often). The details of this series elude me, so I can’t really go into detail about it. I know my dad enjoyed this one as well, but if there was a rerun of The Next Generation in the same time slot as Deep Space Nine, then we watch TNG every time.

Then came Voyager. Probably the best thing about this series was Captain Janeway. A female captain! There were a couple characters in this series that annoyed me, though their names currently elude me. In fact, I don’t really remember this series all that well, I certainly liked it more that Deep Space Nine, but it just didn’t have the magic  that The Next Generation had. Still a very solid and enjoyable series.

But what about the original series? Well, first off, it was way before my time. And secondly, I really don’t like William Shatner. I have seen a few episodes of the original series, but I just can’t get into it because of that man, which is a shame, because that’s the one that started it all. Sure there was Sci-Fi before the original Star Trek, but the series really made the genre explode into what it is today.

You know there are movies too right? I know, but honestly I have only ever seen one of them, and that was Star Trek: Nemesis. This movie is fuzzy in my mind, I remember it being bad and good at the same time. I have been told many times by my husband, that I absolutely must watch Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan, because it is the best movie, and don’t worry, I do plan to watch it one day. But you know how it goes, there are only so many hours in the day and other things take priority and then the next thing you know it’s been several years and you still haven’t watched it. But I promise I will watch it at some point.

As far as the new series, Star Trek: Discovery, which is coming out next year. I will probably check it out but I don’t know how invested I will become in it.

So you have any memories of Star Trek? Or did you never get into the series? And other than The Wrath of Khan, is there another Star Trek movie that I must watch?

12 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Discussion: 50 Years of Star Trek

    • I’ve seen a few of the Star Trek series and a couple movies. Obviously I would recommend checking out The Next Generation as it’s my personal favorite, but really any of the series would be good to watch if you like the movies.

  1. Star Trek is awesome but I haven’t watched the last few shows. I kinda drifted away I guess. TNG is a classic though it expanded the mythos so much, and I like some of the Original series episodes too. And DS9 I loved the concept of it, but never watched it consistently.

    I do think Wrath of Khan is the best. Although it’s been a while since I’ve seen it. I remember seeing Star Trek IV when I was younger and liking it, but I’m not sure it would hold up very well today. 🙂 I always loved the positivity of the universe, how it was so far in the future and they had solved a lot of today’s problems. I may have to check the new series out…

    • I sort of drifted away from it too, especially after Enterprise. I just felt like the show lost a bit of it’s magic after that. I’ve had a few people tell me Wrath of Khan is the best movie, so I guess I have no real excuse for not watching it except for finding the time to do so.

  2. The only Trek show that I’ve seen all the way through is the Original Series, and I’m not sure how I managed because they’re so hammy at times, which is expected thanks to William Shatner. I’ve seen a few episodes of TNG and Voyager, and I’m currently up to the second season of Enterprise which I don’t think is as bad as people say. I haven’t seen any of DS9, but considering that I only got into the franchise a few years ago thanks to my dad. I’ve got a lot of catching up to do but there’s plenty of time 🙂

    • I do want to watch all of the series and movies at some point, just to say that I did, and to really give the ones I haven’t previously seen a chance. But that’s a lot of screen time to get through it all. One day it will happen.

  3. Star Trek (and Gene Roddenberry) bankrupted Lucy’s studio, Desilu. But if it were not for Lucy, the show wouldn’t have survived and made it onto the air.

    I love TOS and still do. Such a great show and I still love watching it.

  4. It was the original series that captured my heart, even with the hamminess and William Shatner doing his thing. I’m relatively new to Star Trek, and I confess I got into it in the first instance because of the 2009 film, but now I’m all about the original series and even more so the films. I actually like Deep Space 9 better than TNG (*gasp!*) but I’m only halfway through it so far and have not watched much Voyager.

    • Interesting that you went from watching the 2009 movie to falling in love with the original series. Nothing wrong with liking one of the series better than the other, Deep Space 9 certainly has it’s appeal.

  5. I remember watching Star Trek when I was a kid but I never actually got that into it. I really love the idea of Star Trek and I’ve definitely see a lot of it, but I couldn’t tell you which Star Trek it was lol. I just loved watching it.

    I really like the new movies. But I don’t find myself looking out for them or waiting for their release etc. I’m not sure why, I guess I’m just not a fan of Chris Pine in the film and I can’t figure out why because I love him in other films he’s been in…

    I wish I could get into Star Trek this much! The premise sounds awesome but I just haven’t watched a whole series yet.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

Leave a Reply

