Book Review: Foundation

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Foundation has been a book on my SciFi radar for some time, however, I tended to keep avoiding reading it because it was a classic, and in general classics and me do not get along. But finally I decided it was time to stop avoiding and start reading this book. After all, I’d never know if I would like it or not if it sat forever ignored on my shelf.

The book started off good enough, and while it didn’t have my complete attention, I didn’t really want to put it down either. I did find the little snippets from the encyclopedia at the beginning of each chapter a bit confusing at times. It’s like the author was trying to give a little extra info but not the whole tidbit. The flow was a bit slow as the story went on, however, I didn’t find that it really dipped off so much that I didn’t want to continue, though I would have given anything for a bit of action or something else to pull me fully back into the book.

There was a definite lack of female characters in this novel. In fact, I can only really remember one and her role was so small it can almost be ignored. The remaining characters were a decent mix of personalities and some helped to move the story along more than others. I can’t say that any of them stood out as one to remember, or played any major role, though I might have missed something.

I did find that the focus of the book was on the politics of the planet. I found this disappointing in a way, because I was expecting a Science Fiction novel, not a space politics story. There were also very few mentions of the technology, which in many SciFi novels are a large part of what puts them into that genre. There was a pretty big focus on the planets use of nuclear power, and how other planets had abandoned such technology. Outside of this and a few descriptions of small bits of technology, there wasn’t much beyond the politics.

In the end, I felt pretty neutral about this book, I didn’t like it, nor did I hate it, it was simply okay. I may one day continue on with the series, however I am in no big rush to do so. But I am glad that I finally could knock this one off of my list.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Foundation

  1. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this one as much as you’d hoped, and it really sucks when that happens with classics! But at least you’ve experienced it for yourself now 🙂

    • That’s true. I’m happy that I did finally get around to reading it, even if it wasn’t my thing. But now I find myself eying the rest of the series every time I go to the used book store, so I guess that’s a sign that I should keep going with them.

    • Even though I didn’t care for Foundation, I do want to read more of Asimov’s works, including the rest of the series. I’ve heard good things about the Robot books, so I will probably check them out at some point. I honestly haven’t heard of Caves of Steel before, will have to see if I can find that one at some point.

  2. Hmm, this has been on my book pile for a couple of years but I just keep on not picking it up. I think it’s something I want to have read, rather than to be reading, if that makes sense. And it’s a shame it’s quite slow and dry (and lacking in ladies.) Oh well, at least it’s short!

  3. I had a hard time with Foundation. I read it when I was younger and it just didn’t appeal to me that much, but I don’t remember a lot. Would i like it now? Hard to tell but I kinda doubt it, for some of the reasons you mention. Maybe it’s just the politics or it just felt dry. But it is nice to read some of these “big name” books in the field just to see what they’re like.

  4. Foundation series is one of my most favorite series. I liked the second and third parts of the series more than the first. If you are open to trying, I would say give the second one a shot. I did not like the first part as much as the second and the third.

Leave a Reply

