Series Review: Star Wars The Clone Wars – Seasons 4-6

Warning: There will be spoilers in this review.

It’s time to talk about the last three season of The Clone Wars. After watching the first three seasons, I was so excited to watch the rest of the series. However, I did not expect for things to get as intense and entertaining as they did.

Season four started off….well it was a little weird. There was an episode near the beginning, it may have even been the first episodes (I honestly can’t remember), that was felt like an odd mash-up between The Wizard of Oz and Gulliver’s Travels. Seriously there was even a scene that was essentially the man behind the curtain, except it was droids behind a wall controlling the holo display. This episode put me a little on edge about what I was to except for the rest fo the season. Luckily, after this weird side step, things went a lot better and the story arcs picked up.

There was some interesting new weaponry added in the fourth season. I won’t go into any details about them, because it’s one of those things that I thin kit better to experience for yourself, but I certainly enjoyed their addition.

Now let’s take a moment to talk about Jedi Master Krell. I’m just gonna come out a say it, I hated him. Right from the moment he arrived, I knew he was bad news. The episode had already started on a rough note, more for the clones than anything else, then Krell arrives and the sense of foreboding came with him. In fact that whole story arc, while very intense, was just a kick in the teeth for anyone who loves the clones. And I for one, really enjoy the clones in this series.

Ahsoka continues to grow a lot as a character and this is especially true during the Onderon story arc. It’s here that she has to push out of her comfort zone in order to help. We also get to see her question the Jedi Order just a little bit more, when some of the decisions they make do not sit well with her.

I was happy to see that Obi-Wan and Satine got several more episodes worth of time together. I had a feeling that they would, given where things had been left on in the previous seasons, and I was not disappointed here. Well, I was in one major regard and that was when they killed off Satine. Her murder, though I saw it coming, was brutal for us viewers but for Obi-Wan as well. Seeing Maul torture them both, showed off the ex-Sith lords brutality in a while new way and proved he would do anything to get revenge on Obi-Wan for cutting off his legs all those years before, was thrilling but sad in the end. I always thought Maul’s character got the short end of the stick in the movie, so having him play a few key roles in this series helped to give him a more solid character.

One thing that kind of bothered me, was that Maul no longer used a double bladed lightsaber. It felt too strange for him to be wielding a regular saber and I was waiting for him to change to a double bladed one, though that never happened. It’s a small detail I know, I just feel like he should have stuck with a weapon that better fit his style of fighting (from what we say in The Phantom Menace at least).

Season five was by far the best. It had me on the edge of me seat the whole way through, in fact I burned through that entire season in one sitting. I just couldn’t imagine taking a break in between episodes, even if it was for a couple of hours. In fact, it was to the point that I think I would have been driven bonkers had I watched the season when it was first released for TV, because I would have had to wait a week between each episode. Things really got intense during the last few episodes when Ahsoka is put into the spotlight, but in a bad way. Who would have thought that the Jedi Order would turn against her like that? That they wouldn’t listen to her when she tried to explain things? No wonder she felt so betrayed. Hell I felt betrayed watching the events unfold. It felt so unfair that she was being persecuted in such a way. It was actually heartbreaking to watch her be removed from the Jedi Order. But even more so, when they finally asked her to come back, once her innocence was proven, and she turned them down. Yet I applauded her for that decision.

Then there was season six, which is an incomplete season due to the series being shut down prematurely (thanks Disney). I have to admit, I felt pretty darn disappointed with these episodes. I understand why they released them since they were completed before the series was ended, so it made sense to give the fans what they had. But it just felt so lacking, so incomplete and left too many things unfinished. Plus that love story arc involving Jar Jar was a little disturbing.

I do feel like it would have been better to have just ended with season five. Sure, there were still a lot of loose ends to tie up. But that final episode of that season was actually a perfect ending point.

Overall, I found this series to be truly enjoyable. Sure, there were a couple of episodes that felt off and didn’t really add much to the overall story, but it was all so well done that I can ignore those few blips. I would definitely recommend this series to anyone who hasn’t seen it yet. And don’t worry, just because it’s animated doesn’t mean it’s just for kids. People of all ages can enjoy this show. I would definitely recommend watching this series before diving into Rebels (if you haven’t started it yet), because it gives a lot of background on a few characters that will play important roles in that series, especially Ahsoka.

Leave a Reply

