Top Ten Tuesday

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is Movie Freebie.

In honor of Sci-Fi month, I am going to do the top ten Sci-Fi movies I need to watch. Some are old, some are newer, but all of these movies I need to get around to watching at some point.

  1. Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan. If I watch this one, my husband will finally stop bugging me about it. He keeps telling me it’s the best Star Trek movie, but I still haven’t watched it yet.
  2. Alien. I know, I know. How the heck have I not seen this one yet? I honestly don’t have a good answer for you, so hopefully I will rectify this soon.
  3. Dune. Another super old movie I should have watched ages again. My excuse for not watching it yet? I want to read the book first. Plus I hear the old ovie is quite bad, but I will still watch it one day.
  4. Tron: Legacy. I watched the original movie a few months back and while I didn’t enjoy it, I do want to watch the reboot. Hopefully it is better than the original. If not, at least the special effects will make it more visually pleasing to watch.
  5. The Day The Earth Stood Still. Yet another really old Sci-Fi movie I have been meaning to watch for years. I don’t know if it’s good or not, but one day I will see it.
  6. Titan A.E. This one has been recommended to me so many times it’s not even funny. Yet I still haven’t seen it.
  7. Frankenstein (1931). I might have seen this one many years ago, but since I can’t remember it at all I’m going to say I haven’t seen it yet.
  8. Ex Machina. My husband keeps telling me to watch this one as well, yet also tells me I probably won’t enjoy it. So I’m torn on whether to watch it or not.
  9. Appleseed XIII. Okay, it’s technically not a movie, but since I enjoyed the other Appleseed movies, I feel like I should watch this series. I own it, I just haven’t made the time to watch it.
  10. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. Found out about this one recently, and thought it sounded interesting. Plus it combines two things I love, Sci-Fi and Anime.

Are there any Sci-Fi movies you want to see but haven’t gotten around to it yet? Any that you would recommend I check out?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I do think Wrath of Khan is the best Trek movie, although it’s aged some. I don’t enjoy it as much as I used to, but it has a powerful ending. Definitely worth seeing. Dune’s pretty bad (IMO) but it has its moments. 🙂 And I liked Ex Machina a lot.

    I’ve never seen The Day The Earth Stood Still but I do like some of those silly old 50’s SF movies.

    • I’m sure the movie is a bit dated, but knowing that I will go into it with an open mind whenever I do get around to seeing it. I’ve heard a lot of people say Dune is a really bad movie, but that the book is fantastic, so I plan on reading the book before watching the movie.
      Old movies, regardless of the genre, are great to watch just because they so outdated and the special effects (or lack there of) are super cheap, but that’s half the fun of watching them.

  2. You got a great list here! Plenty to keep you busy over Thanksgiving weekend.

    If you haven’t seen any of these, you are in for a treat:
    Bladerunner
    Interstellar
    Galaxy Quest
    Event Horizon (it’s so bad it’s good!)
    Paprika
    The Fifth Element
    Stargate (not the movies made from the TV show, the actual original movie)
    Bicentennial Man
    The Martian

    • Thanks for the recommendations. I’ve only seen a couple of them, so I’ll definitely add them to my to-watch list. Will probably watch Event Horizon first, cause you won me over with the “it’s so bad it’s good” comment, ha ha.

  3. Tron: Legacy isn’t a great film, but it has pretty technology and the soundtrack is damn good. In fact, I’m going to go and listen to it right now 🙂

  4. I guess I should admit I’ve not seen ANY of the original Star Trek films. I think the only one I ever saw (in a deal with my then-boyfriend) was Insurrection, which… wasn’t very good. But then, I’ve never watched the original show either.

    I… wasn’t too impressed with the new Tron, but I really don’t like Hayden Christensen. But I loved Ex Machina. I mean, it’s awful (in the sense of horrible people in a horrible situation), but it’s so clever and so well done.

    • I think the movies have more appeal if you have watched and enjoyed the series.
      Tron seems to be hit or miss with people, I guess I will find out which side I’m on when I get around to watching it. Ha ha, I’ don’t care much for Hayden Christensen either. Hmmm, now you have me curious about Ex Machina, guess I’ll have to see what you mean when I watch it.

Leave a Reply

