Book Review: Lost Stars

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Originally I hadn’t planned on reading this book at any point. I figured a young adult Star Wars novel just wouldn’t hold up to the adult books in this ever growing series. But I kept seeing it, and it kept luring me in until I finally bought it. But it would be a few months before I got up the courage to actually read this book. And boy was I glad that I did.

Though I wasn’t instantly pulled into the story, it did not take me long to want to keep reading, to find out what would happen next and to not put the book down until I was done. While this book spans quite a number of years, the flow of the story is very good. It doesn’t feel like there are sometimes months or years between events, as there is a smooth transition from one to the other.

The thing that stood out the most to me were the main characters. Ciena and Thane were fantastic characters that showed a lot of growth throughout the whole book. They also had plenty of obstacles to overcome, and some acted more as setbacks that anything else. It was also interesting to watch them progress from friends, to enemies, to friends again and then more. The shift from their old lives on their home world, where they were already so different from each other – one growing up poor, the other rich, and then into the life of an Imperial trainee to officer was fantastic.

Another great addition to this book was the presence of some characters from the Star Wars franchise, like Darth Vader, Grand Moff Tarkin and others who are most notably known for their roles in the original movies. This combined with a few key lines said during those movies really helped to solidify this books involvement in those and other events within the Star Wars timeline.

The only thing that I found a bit disappointing was the ending. Sure it gave a good bit of information regarding The Force Awakens, namely in regards to Jaku, but there was something missing. It was like something was unresolved at the end, a small bit of Ciena and Thane‘s story was missing. Because of this, I really hope that another novel comes along soon to pick up were this one left off, or shortly there after, so that I can get some complete closure on the story or at least find out for sure what happened with a few key moments. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to Star Wars fans and non-fans as well.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Lost Stars

  1. This was my first Claudia Gray book, and it made me finally read her other ya books. I think she really gets how to write a star wars book. I adored this book. I do get what you mean about the ending and I think we will have a lot of questions for awhile about what happened from the fall of the Empire up to the start of TFA.

    • I definitely plan on reading more of her books now, I really enjoyed her writing style and I’m curious to see what her non-Star Wars books are like. There are a lot of gaps between Empire and TFA, which I’m sure will eventually be explained through books and movies, we just need to wait for them to happen, but I look forward to it.

  2. I liked this one too, and it couldn’t have been easy to write the way she layered this story in with events from the films. I liked the characters too, and was surprisingly frustrated (must mean I was invested) when they couldn’t get past their differences. But of course that’s the point of the story, how they each took a different path. I also liked the little cameo that Tarkin had early on.

    • She certainly had her work cut out for her making sure to reference the events of the films but also incorporating a new story and characters, and I think she did a bang up job of that. I totally agree with you, it was frustrating at times but also made sense, given their different paths and their devotion to those choices. The appearance of Tarkin made my day.

Leave a Reply

