Book Review: Breakout

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

As far as series finales go, Breakout was alright. After such an intense bit of story telling in the second book, Havoc, I was hoping that the action and standout plot lines would continue until the end, but alas that was not meant to be. There was certainly still plenty of action, but compared to Havoc, this book felt tame.

I can’t really go into much detail, as doing so may give away things in this book and the previous novels, but there were some things I really liked. One being that we finally got to learn more about Silence. I admit, I was curious from the beginning of the trilogy about just who she was and why she was locked away on Perdition. The revelation about her past and her reason for being there was quick shocking.

There were moments in this book where things slowed down quite a bit, yet given the happenings during these times, it made sense that the story lulled a bit. It can’t all be fast paced action (even if I wish that it could be). Given what the people on Perdition were doing, there couldn’t always be something dramatic happening every page. Some things needed to be slowly revealed, plans had to be formed and constructed, and action could show up now and then to keep things interesting.

I do have to say, that the ending was in a way a little disappointing to me. Granted I liked seeing the characters pushed out of the elements and really tested in new ways, but it just felt a bit anticlimactic. After all that had happened, for it to end like that, I mean in a way it made sense, but I just wished there could have been something more.

Overall, I really enjoyed this trilogy. Havoc was by far my favorite book in it, with Breakout being my least favorite, but still enjoyable. I have really come to love Ann Aguirre’s writing and I cannot recommend her books enough. I will definitely be reading more of her books in the future and hope that perhaps another series will be written within this same universe because I really enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

