Book Review: Cardwell Christmas Crime Scene

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

I have come to love B.J. Daniels writing, and more so the Cardwell Ranch series, and the subsequent series Cardwell Cousins, which this book is a part of. There is something about these books, which are the perfect mix of suspense, romance and cowboys, that makes me rush to read them.

I will admit, I was slightly confused about this book as well, because I swore I had read it already based on the title. But after a bit of digging, I realized I was confusing it with two books from the Cardwell Ranch series, Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch, and Christmas At Cardwell Ranch. I’m sure you can see how the title of this one mixed me up a bit, as it’s a mishmash of those two.

I loved the fact that we finally got the see the real Dee Anna Justice, known as DJ, and to see much much she differed from the fake Dee Anna that was in an earlier Cardwell Ranch novel. I really liked her character, to see how she was conflicted about this family she was meeting for the first time, yet wanting so badly to be a part of it. Imagine having an entire family hidden from you and then suddenly finding them. That would certainly be a lot to process for anyone, but given how DJ finds out about them, it’s not wonder she has so much apprehension at first.

Then there is Beau. He’s a cowboy and private investigator, and he’s sort of the wrench thrown into DJ’s plans. I really enjoyed seeing the struggle between these two as they sorted out the mystery surrounding DJ and their feelings for each other.

There were definitely several unexpected moments in this book. I did try to guess where the story would lead, but Daniel’s has a great way of making the reader think one thing, and then revealing something else as the pages go on. I was really surprised by one particular event near the end, though I won’t go into detail about it to avoid spoilers, but I was actually excited about it, since it was not at all what I was expecting to occur. In fact, it was the exact opposite, and that made me really want to get through those last few pages to see exactly how it all played out.

I would definitely recommend this book, as well as the Cardwell series as a whole, as it is truly a great read. If you are going to read this one, I’d highly suggest reading the rest of the Cardwell Cousins series first, just to make sure you get the full experience. And if you want to really go all out, read the Cardwell Ranch series first, and truly get to know each and every Cardwell family members and learn about their own journey, you will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

