Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sometimes you read a book that really stands out to you at the time, it sucks you in and holds your attention right to the end. Then a couple of weeks later, you can’t remember any details from the book, including why you liked it. This is what happened when I read Thirteen Reasons Why.

I was pretty quickly absorbed into the story. I was intrigued as to the exactly reasons behind each persons link to Hannah’s death. Some had less of an impact than others. I was curious as to how Hannah found enough blank tapes to pull this whole thing off through, especially in this day and age. Cassettes are petty much ancient technology at this point, so where the heck did she find enough to record all that she needed to.

One important detail, is to read the couple of pages before the first chapter. At first I wasn’t sure if I should or not, as it wasn’t labeled as a prologue, but I did anyways, and I’m glad I did as it sort of set the tone for the rest of the novel.

I think I would have liked it more had we been able to see at least some of the reactions to the others listening to the tapes. I realize that would likely make the book horrendously long, and there were a couple of those people making appearances throughout, adding a little bit to the story. But it was this lack of outside influence that made the book seem a bit flat at times.

Overall, the book was fairly good. It does do a good job of pointing out how one should be careful of what they say or do to others, because you never know what they are going through, or how your words and actions can affect them in the long run. If you think you might enjoy this book, then go ahead and pick it up.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why

Leave a Reply

