Annual End of Year Survey

The Year End Survey is hosted by Jaime at The Perpetual Page-Turner.

Number Of Books You Read: 70
Number of Re-Reads: 4
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasty

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Havoc by Ann Aguirre. It was a fantastic, action packed, don’t put it down kind of book.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Ahsoka by E.K. Johnston. Now, don’t get me wrong, this was a great book, and I would recommend it to anyone. I just felt that it didn’t give us enough of a look at Ahsoka’s life after she left the Jedi to really show how much she grew and all that she endured until she appeared once more as Fulcrum in star Wars Rebels.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen. Honestly, I thought this would be some cheesy romance novel that I would abandon a few chapters in, but what I found was indeed surprisingly good.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Didn’t really push anyone to read anything.

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

All three questions can be answered with the same series: The Dred Chronicles by Ann Aguirre. I started it 2016, the best sequel was the second book Havoc and the final book was the best series ender than I read this year.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Claudia Gray. Her novel, Lost Stars, was fantastic and also proved that there can be amazing Young Adult Star Wars novels.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Well, since I read every genre this one is hard to answer. But I guess if I had to pick one, it would be The Last Rhinos by Lawrence Anthony. I don’t tend to read much non-fiction anymore, which is a shame because I used to read it all the time. So I guess it’s a bit out of my comfort zone now. But this book was truly wonderful.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Havoc by Ann Aguirre. This one was action packed from beginning to end. And yes, it will probably appear several more times before this survey is over.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Lost Stars by Claudia Gray and Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

I love the cover of Titans by Victoria Scott. I mean look at that cover! Honorable mention goes to Ahsoka by E.K Johnston, Dangerous Depths by Karen Amanda Hooper and Lost Stars by Claudia Gray.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Martine from The Dread Chronicles by Ann Aguirre.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Lost Stars by Claudia Gray would be my first choice. But I also loved the writing in Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

I’m drawing a blank for this one.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Foundation by Isaac Asimov. Seriously, that book had been on my TBR for ages.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Honestly, I don’t tend to keep track of passages or quotes from books.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Longest read was Lost Stars by Claudia Gray at 551 pages. Shortest read was The Giver by Lois Lowry at 180 pages.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

I am drawing a blank on this one.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

I don’t do the ship thing. Sorry.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The friendship between Astrid and Magnolia from Titans by Victoria Scott.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Hm, no one forced me to read a book, so I’ve got nothing for this one.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

I don’t do fictional crushes.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I didn’t read any debuts this year…that I’m aware of.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I loved the world/world building in The Dred Chronicles, even though much of the series was restricted to a single large location. The setting of Water For Elephants was also wonderful, bringing to life a time in history that I can only read about in books or watch in old documentaries.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

All books put a smile on my face…unless they are bad books. I don’t know which one to pick for this. I guess the book that was the most fun to read was Titans by Victoria Scott because it was the first young adult novel that I’ve read that didn’t contain romance.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. Every freaking time I read this book I cry, I just can’t help it!

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Not sure if it was really a “hidden” gem, but I would say Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This was a wonderful book and I’d recommend everyone read it.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Dangerous Depths by Karen Amanda Hooper. But in a good way! I can’t go into details, but let’s just say that what the characters had to go through broke me, but then at the end there was a happy ending.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Titans by Victoria Scott, because it is rare to find a young adult novel that doesn’t have/focuses on romance.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

The Giver by Lois Lowry, because I wanted to see more of the world and more about the characters, especially at the end, and it didn’t happen.

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Sadly, I didn’t really find any new book blogs.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Lost Stars by Claudia Gray. It’s sort of short, but I think it worked perfectly.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I would have to say it was my Shelf Talk post about DNFing Books.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I didn’t participate in any events this year.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Deciding to not read and review books just because I see them on every other blog out there. It means that I am finally doing what I had planned for with this blog all along, is reading books from each genre, whether they are old or new, popular or unpopular and expanding my reading experience, and perhaps by extension the reading experiences of the people who visit my blog.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Keeping up with it. Seriously, some months I just wish the posts could write themselves. Also commenting, ugh I totally suck at commenting on other blogs.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I have no idea.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I guess I would say my Sci-Fi Recommendations post, because I didn’t get a lot of feedback on it like I was hoping I would get.

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I’m drawing a blank on this one. Can’t think of any new bookish discoveries for the year.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I reached my goal of mostly reading my own books thanks to the Read My Own Damn Books Challenge hosted by Andi at Estella’s Revenge.

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Oh man, so many books I didn’t get to, it’s hard to narrow it down to just one. I suppose, I would go with Uprooted by Naomi Novik.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

I would say Firebrand by Kristen Britain, the sixth book in the Green Rider series.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I honestly can’t think of any debut novel coming out in 2017. I’m terrible I know.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Firebrand by Kristen Britain, the sixth book in the Green Rider series.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I hope to get better at visiting and commenting on other blogs on a regular basis. I always tell myself to sit down and do it, then I never get around to it.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any 2017 releases yet.

 

h

h

h

Leave a Reply

