Book Review: Wind River Rancher

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

I’ll admit, that I was a bit leery about reading this book at first. When I read the first book in this series, Wind River Wrangler, it was so agonizingly slow, that I didn’t think I could make it through this book if it was the same way. While this book wasn’t as slow as Wind River Wrangler, it did have it’s dragging moments.

The characters in this book were alright. I didn’t feel any real connection to any of them, which makes it hard to feel sympathetic toward their issues. Though it felt a bit tedious at times, being a large focus of the book, I also enjoyed the fact that the majority of the characters suffered from PTSD because often times it is overlooked and written off by many people as not worthy of the attention. So yes, it was good to see not only the two main characters, but a lot of the side characters dealing with this in various ways, because like many diseases, each individual will heal at their own pace and need different treatments and help to get through it. But it also seemed like such a huge focus of the book that everything else was put on the back burner to keep the issue front and center. Like sure, there was ranch stuff going on, but even then, PTSD was always being mentioned. I feel that if it had have been a little less in your face, I would have enjoyed the book more.

It took a while for there to be any real connection between this book and the first in the series. In fact, there were a few times during the first half of the book, that I kept checking to make sure that they were indeed a part of the same series. I was expecting it to be more closely connected to that first book, and eventually the connection came, but a little too late to feel like a sequel. Even so, I get that this series is encompassing more than just a single ranch and it’s employees, it is clearly going to focus on the lives of everyone within the Wind River Valley, and hopefully that will work out in the end, as I’m sure there is plenty of good characters to come along as the series progresses.

I found that the first half of this novel flew by fairly quickly. I sat down to read it, and then next thing you know, I was about fifty-seven percent done. It was the second half that really slowed down. I don’t know if this is because of the small break I took in reading or not, which really was only overnight, but something about returning to the book felt daunting. Once I started reading the second half I noticed how boring and long the conversations between the characters were. More so, the descriptions of just about everything were drawn out, to make sure you knew every single detail, whether it mattered or not.

The ending was pretty abrupt and almost feels like something is missing, that there are still some unresolved issues. Perhaps these will be resolved in future books, but it would have likely made more sense to deal with them now in this book, instead of in the future.

Overall, the book was alright. It was certainly an improvement from the first book in the series, and if this improvement continues, then the series has a chance of becoming something special. If you are looking for a book that deals with the issues of PTSD then this series may be for you.

Leave a Reply

