Review: The Beast Within

My rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Spoiler and rant alert!

What the hell did I just read? I was so excited for this book. I wanted to get to know more about the Prince before he became the Beast. Seriously, did the author even bother to watch Beauty and The Beast before writing this piece of crap? Judging by the content, I’m going to say they didn’t.

Everything about this was wrong.

What really irked me, besides how the original movie was completely ignored, was that those stupid sister from Fairest Of All, made an appearance in this book as well. I guess Disney has decided that all their villains, and stories for that matter, must have a comment thread to intertwine them. Well I do not approve.

One thing that really annoyed me was something between the Prince and Gaston. Okay, fine, they were friends before he was turned into the Beast, I can accept that. But what I can’t accept is how Gaston would not realize he is going to the same castle, all be it a now cursed castle, that his Prince friend lived in and he didn’t realize it was the same castle. Sure, the castle would have looked different from before it was cursed, but you’re telling me that he didn’t once think ‘Hey, isn’t this the same spot where my friends castle used to be? Isn’t this the same road I took to get to that castle? Could it possibly be the same castle somehow?’ No, he never thought that, just acted like it was something new and he had to kill the beast inside, because that is what Gaston does best.

Also, the fact that the weird sisters, also have another sister who was at one time engaged to the Beast. Let’s just complicate things more. Oh and when he was cursed it wasn’t an old beggar women who then turned into a beauty woman, nope, it was his scorned past love trying to teach him a lesson. Good job ruining such a magical tale and one beloved by so many.

Oh, and the fact that it wasn’t Belle saying she loved the Beast that turned him back into a human, but that fourth sister who took pity on them and granted his transformation back into human form after the final petal fell.

Good job ruining such a magical tale and one beloved by so many.

I could keep going on about everything I hate about this book, but I’m going to make myself stop here. I would not recommend this book to anyone and I am having serious doubts about reading the next book, about Ursula, because you know those damn sisters will be in it and be the reason behind everything.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Beast Within

Leave a Reply

