Book Review: From The Listening Hills

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After reading a couple of Louis L’Amour’s books, I wanted to read more. I bought one a while back at a used book store, but it inevitably ended up on my shelf neglected and unread for far too long. Finally I decided to give it a try. I didn’t know at the time that it was a collection of short stories, but I think it was a good way to be introduced into his writing.

The stories cover a few different genres, but I’ll admit it was the western stories that I enjoyed the most. After all, I had bought this book because Louis L’Amour wrote western books, and that was what I wanted to read from him.

Of all the stories, I liked the first one the best. It sucked me in right from the first sentence and really made me want to keep reading in hopes that all the other stories were like that one. There were a few others that really stood as as something special, and those were also other western stories.

There were a couple stories I didn’t really enjoy. These stories were about football, and well it confused me at first because I thought all the stories in this collection were going to be of the western genre. But it also made me want to skip them, because I don’t care for football. I did read them, but obviously I didn’t care for them. I would have rather had two more western stories, instead of them.

Overall, I thought this was a pretty good introduction to his writing. I think, in a small way, it would have been better to have picked up one of his full length western books first, but I’m still glad I read this one, because it gave me a complete look at his writing style and what he did write about. I would recommend this book to those who want to read his work, or just a short story collection, as the book itself is a quick read and the mix of stories is bound to appeal to every reader.

Leave a Reply

