January 2017 Wrap-Up

wrapup

With February here, it’s time to look back on the reading I did in January. I had a very good start to reading this year, knocking out nine books during January. I have found that making, and sticking, to a monthly TBR has helped me out immensely and I will be doing this every month.

So what did I read in January?

  • Trick And Treachery by Jessica Flecther
  • War Crimes by Christie Golden
  • War of The Worlds by H.G. Wells
  • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • True Grit by Charles Portis
  • We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Marley & My by John Grogan
  • Dark Disciple by Christie Golden
  • The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

The month was also busy outside of reading. I had lots of baking to do, which was mostly dog treat orders, from my baking side business. I also started to do a major purge of the house. This is a project that will likely take a couple of months to complete, but I have already noticed a huge difference after only doing two full rooms. Getting this done will finally allow us to rearrange some of the rooms, something we have been wanting to do for a while now, and allow us to get new carpet in the main bedroom as well.

We played board games quite a bit over the month, which was lots of fun. We used to play them regularly, but then we stopped for some reason, so it’s been great to return to regular board game nights. Our two favorite games are Settlers of Catan, which we play both the regular game and some of the expansion packs as well. Another favorite is Touche, a two player game from the late 70s. I managed to find this one of ebay a while back, because I remembered having so much fun playing it as a kid. Touche is great for when we want to play a game, but don’t have a lot of time, as it can take only a few minutes to play a round.

We also watched a LOT of movies. Part of the house purge involves getting rid of a big chunk of our DVD collection. Some movies we know we no longer need, but others we aren’t sure about, so they have been piled up and we will watch each one, afterward determining whether to keep it or get rid of it. Between this and Netflix, I have put in many hours of watching movies and shows with month and it will continue until we have gone through all the DVDs.

2 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

