Book Review: Vol’jin: Shadows of The Horde

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had really been excited to read this book when it first came out in 2013. The problem was, I was spending pretty much every waking hour playing the Mists of Pandaria expansion in World of Warcraft, so the idea of reading wasn’t a high priority. When I played through the Vol’jin quest line, I wanted to read this book even more, but again I didn’t bother to spend the time doing it. So finally, three years later, I was able to read this book and see how it was.

The first thing I noticed, is that this book read slowly. I don’t mean the pace of the story itself was slow, but that it took me a long time to get through it. I would read for an hour and only get through about fifteen pages, twenty if I was lucky, and that felt incredibly slow to me. I normally read much faster than that. But, the thing is, I was enjoyed reading the book, I just was slightly appalled by how long it was taking me to get through it.

The characters, I felt, were good representations of their video game counterparts. Most of them I had encountered during my many hours of questing in the game, and while some of them I remembered less than others, it was nice to get to see them again and also see them beyond the bits where they are involved in a quest line.

I found that the pace of this novel was good. It could have used a bit more action, but it was not necessarily needed given the context of the story. While the story as a whole was good, I felt that the last third of the book was where I really enjoyed it the most, as that was the part where the action came alive. In truth, I feel like I would have enjoyed this book more had I read it while I was playing World of Warcraft because then it would have helped to fill in some gaps from the quest lines, but I am glad that I finally got around to read it now. I would recommend this book to those who not only play the game but also for those who have read and enjoyed the other books in this series.

Leave a Reply

