Top Ten Tuesday

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would.

I decided to do a bit of both for this list, because I wasn’t sure if I could find ten books that would fit just one of these. Plus it adds a bit of fun to cover both sides of the topic. So here they are in no particular order.

Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would

  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I put this one off for years thinking I would hate it, but when I finally read it not that long ago I realized it was a really good book.
  • Lost Stars by Claudia Gray. With so many disappointments in the new Star Wars Cannon series, I didn’t expect much out of this one. But what I got was a truly fantastic story, and I really hope that Gray writes a follow up novel to check in on these characters a few years later in the timeline.
  • Foundation by Isaac Asimov. I really wasn’t expecting much from this one, and while I didn’t think it was the best book ever, I still enjoyed it more than I thought I would and plan to read the rest of the series some day. I can see how this story inspired Star Wars with a lot of similar ideas and terminology.
  • Owl And The Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish. I had this one randomly send to me by the publisher, and when I read the back I though I would hate it. In fact, I didn’t think I would even bother reading it, but I did and fond a very interesting story within it’s pages.
  • Half Of A Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I was expecting to like this one, but not to love it like I did. Adichie’s writing is so beautiful, and it was reading this book that prompted me to go out and buy all her other books, which are all wonderful reads as well.

Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

  • Star Wars: Catalyst. This, and most of the other books in the new Star Wars cannon have been huge disappointments. I want to like then, because they are Star Wars, but nearly every one I have ended up not liking.
  • The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed The Raven Boys. But I found each book after that was less and less interesting, and when I got to The Raven King, I couldn’t even bother to finish it. I though I would love the whole series, but sadly I didn’t.
  • Titans by Victoria Scott. I liked this book, I really did, but I didn’t love it. I had though I would absolutely love this book based off the synopsis, but it didn’t live up to my expectations. I think my big issue was I was thinking it would be like The Scorpio Races and when it wasn’t, I was left feeling disappointed.
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. When I first finished this book I gave it a four star rating, but shortly afterwards I really questioned that decision because the more I thought about it, the more I realized it wasn’t that good, and I began to forget the book just days after finishing it. So while I initially liked it, in the end I didn’t enjoy it very much.
  • The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner. Sure, I liked the first book enough to keep reading, but everything after that felt like a carbon copy of the first book.
11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I was SO disappointed with The Maze Runner Trilogy as a whole. It was just so boring! It’s one example of where the movies were a better representation of what I thought the novel should be.

    I’m so scared to start The Raven’s Cycle! That’s my binge series for my upcoming vacation (tomorrow). I didn’t totally love her Wolves of Mercy Falls series so I’m hesitant to pick it up.

    • I only watched the first movie because, while it was better than the book, it still felt so boring. I tried to read the prequel trilogy to The Maze Runner, for some stupid reason, but DNF’d the first book because once again it was boring and was basically the same story, except different characters and the setting felt like the maze but wasn’t the maze.
      I haven’t read her Wolves of Mercy series, but after not liking The Raven Cycle I’m not sure if I will. I do absolutely love The Scorpio Races, so she has one book I truly enjoyed.

  2. Lost Stars was definitely good, and I agree- a follow up would be nice! I read Owl and the Japanese Circus too and while I didn’t love it I did think it was pretty good. Catalyst I have avoided after hearing about it, and the Maze Runner books I’ve been curious about but haven’t tackled yet.

    • Honestly, Catalyst was a waste of time. After it being touted as a must read prequel, I was so annoyed with the book that I wanted to get those hours back I spent reading it. You may like The Maze Runner, so it would be worth checking out at least the first book in the series.

  3. I knew I wouldn’t like The Maze Runner trilogy so I didn’t even try. I wanted to read The Raven Cycle but seeing it on everyone’s less liked than expected book, I think I am gonna pass on it. Really glad you liked Cinder!
    Here’s My TTT

    • I wish I hadn’t bothered to read The Maze Runner, but oh well, at least I now know I won’t read any of his other books. I’m actually surprised it The Raven Cycle ended up on so many liked less than expected lists, especially since so many blogs I have been to have always been raving about how much they loved the books. I’m glad I liked Cinder too, and really looking forward to the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

