Book Review: Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I can’t even tell you why I originally bought this book. But considering it has a price sticker from a used book store on it, I’m assuming that I saw it during a book shopping trip and thought “Why not, it could be interesting” and so I bought it.

Though the first chapter felt a little off, the rest of this book flew by. I managed to get through it in just a few hours and while most of it slipped away almost immediately upon finishing it, I’m glad I gave it a chance.

The one thing that I had an issue with was how quickly the story jumped between the four friends. Even at the half way point I still couldn’t keep track of who was who, which made it difficult to feel any connection to any of the characters. So by the end of the book I was left thinking, wait what happened with that girl again? It’s strange to have the contents of a book fade away so quickly. In fact, I wrote this review immediately after finishing the book and I’m seriously grabbing at straws here to put anything down, that’s how much of it I remember. But I know the few details I do remember will inevitably fade more and I will be left with nothing to write.

Overall, this was a quick read, but since it didn’t stick with me, I can’t really say much else about it. I was just one of those okay books. I know there are people out there who have really enjoyed this book, so if you are curious about the story, I would recommend checking it out.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants

    • I unhauled this one as soon as I finished writing the review. I haven’t watched the movie, but I think the you right, it might help me keep track of who is who. It is on my to-watch list, just need to make time to get around to it and see if it’s better than the book.

  1. I LOVED this one when I read years ago! I finished it in a day because I couldn’t put it down. I credit it with reigniting my love of reading.

    I struggled a bit too with who was who (I think I did a lot of flipping back and forth) but I love multiple POVs because it keeps the story going.

    • That’s great that it helped you get your love of reading back.
      I think where I struggled the most with the jumping perspectives is that it happened multiple times within the chapters. I’ve read a number of books with multiple POVs which flowed just fine because those POVs only switched with each new chapter, and you knew just who you were reading about. In the end, still glad I read it so I can finally see what all the fuss was about. Will watch the movie at some point to see if it’s better than the book – at least in the keeping the girls stories straight.

Leave a Reply

