Monday Progress Report

Reviews Posted Last Week:
Dark Disciple by Christie Golden

What I did Last Week

Read

I did a decent amount of reading last week. First up I read A Bride’s Story Vol. 1. I really enjoyed this one, so much so that I immediately ordered the next two volumes after finishing this one. I haven’t decided if I will review this as a series or do individual reviews for each volume.

 

 

Next up I read Secret Daughter. This was such a great read and I’m so glad this book was sent to me from my Secret Sister because I would have otherwise missed out on it. I will be posting a full review of this book in a few weeks.

 

 

Lastly, I read Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki. While I enjoyed this one, I feel like I would have enjoyed it more if I had watched the anime. I will make sure to watch the anime one day to see how it compares to the manga. I will be posting a full review of this book in a few weeks.

 

 

Watched

I didn’t watch too much last week. My son and I watched a number of episodes of Phineas & Ferb, which are always entertaining. I ended up watching The Garden of Words, which was really good. I had watched it about a year or so ago, but had a hankering to watch it again. I then watched two documentaries on Netflix. The Eagle Huntress was a great look at the first female eagle hunter in Mongolia. The Mask You Live In, which takes a look at how masculinity is pushed onto boys from a young age and how it shapes them.

Life

It was a busy week. The boy had soccer finals, which only lasted two days, but were the most intense two days of soccer out of the whole season. Luckily, his team did amazing and walked away with the gold metal. In fact, over the whole season they only lost one game. I finally had the chance to plant the garden this week. It threatened to rain nearly every day, but I forced myself to get out there and plant things before it is too late. As it is, everything was planted about two weeks late, thanks to lots of rain this month, so I’m hoping the garden does well and gives up lots of produce before the end of the season. I then spent the weekend baking because I had several orders to fill. I did also play a bit of World of Warcraft but not as much as I had hoped I would.

What I Plan To Do This Week

Reading

I plan on reading Rhapsody: Child of Blood this week. I had read this book a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it, I want to continue on with this series, but can’t remember what happened in the first book, thus the reread.

Beyond that, I plan to read A Bride’s Story Vol. 2 & 3 this week. I had hoped to read these late last week, but unfortunately they were delayed in the mail and should be arriving today. So they will have to wait until this week to get read.

Watching

Not really sure what I will be watching this week. I have a few shows that I need to watch from the PVR but otherwise, I will likely just watch whatever I feel like on any given day.

Life

Though the garden is fully planted, I will be spending lots of time tending to it this week, making sure it’s watered plenty and that the weeds are kept at bay while the plants get established. I also have some more baking to do to fill a few order, which will keep me decently busy, but will help to pay for the books I will inevitably end up purchasing in the coming weeks.

4 thoughts on “Monday Progress Report

  1. I’ve read volume 3 of a Bride’s Tale for the CYBILs a few years back. I have volumes one and two to read but they’re in storage. It’s been a busy week with a cracked toilet, day camp, and paperwork for cross country. Come see what I’m reading

    • I am looking forward to continuing A Bride’s Story, should have some of them arriving today and will likely order the rest after I read them. Cracked toilet doesn’t sound fun, hope all is fixed now.

  2. I’m glad you had a good reading week. My whole month has been great, probably because I’m not watching as much television. Though Suits season 6 did come to Amazon Prime and Masterpiece now has 3 shows. I binged watch Suits while I was on vacation last week and it rained most of the time. See what I’ve read this month.

Leave a Reply

