Book Review: Warcraft Legends Vol. 1

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

For a number of years now, close to 12 to be exact, I have been playing and following the lore of World of Warcraft. Technically my love of this world started well before this, back to when I was younger and watched my day play the original Warcraft game and then I ended up playing too. Although it wasn’t until I started playing World of Warcraft that I truly because immersed into the full story and lore of the games. Because of this, I have been slowly accumulating and reading all of the books set in this world. Up until recently I had only been reading the novel, though I knew there were plenty of comics and graphic novels to be found. Finally, I decided to dive into the graphic novel aspect of the series and started with the Legends series.

The Legends graphic novels had four different stories in them, following different characters and hit on different aspects of the lore. Overall, this was an okay book, but I feel like I would have liked it more had it focused on a single story, instead of these short stories and snippets of stories.

I did enjoy the art in this volume, it really was great, but I found the stories themselves to be a bit on the dull side. Perhaps that is because Richard Knaak is one of the writers and I have yet to read an interesting Warcraft book by him. I feel like the length of the stories also attributed to my not loving this book. The one shot stories felt far too short and then the story that is stretched out over all the volumes I wasn’t overly interested in. Sure I liked it, but I wish it could have had it’s own book for it just to have it more focused on.

While I didn’t love this book, I will continue to read the rest to see what other stories will pop up and how that continuing story will work out.

Leave a Reply

