Series Review: .hack// Legend of The Twilight

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

About ten years ago, my husband bought me this trilogy after I had showed interest in the .hack video games. Since then, the books, along with the games, sat on my shelves severely neglected. Finally, I decided it was time to read this trilogy.

I realized very quickly that this wasn’t the best starting point for me. After a quick internet search, I found out that there are many different .hack series, inlcuding the games, other manga and anime series and this was not the first of them. Even so, I decided to keep reading and hoped it would all make sense in the end.

Despite not having read, watched or played any of the previous series, I came to enjoy this trilogy. It does vaguely reference things that happened in the previous series, but you certainly don’t need to have read or watched the other series to get through this one, it just helps.

These books were pretty quick reads. I got through all three in one day. Really my only big complaint is that sometime I could tell which character was talking. They all look vaguely similar, especially the hair styles, so when it’s a close up of their face, I didn’t always know who was talking. Also, there were times when I wasn’t sure if a character was thinking something, saying something or if it was some other external dialog going on.

Overall, I liked these books, but I felt that I would have enjoyed them much more had I read the series in order, and of course watched the appropriate anime and played the right games before diving into this one. That being said, you certainly don’t need to do that. If you want to read this trilogy and not touch the other .hack series, then you can do so without being lost.

Leave a Reply

